Prevention of Money Laundering

Compulsory Acceptance Procedure for Lawyers

The Act of 11 January 1993 for preventing the use of financial systems for money laundering and the financing of terrorism, ‘the Money Laundering Act’ for short, perhaps doesn’t mean much to you, but this law has implications not only for the relationship with your bank, your public notary or other financial adviser, but also for the relationship with your lawyer.

In implementation of the Money Laundering Act, the Order of Flemish Bars created a regulation to which all lawyers have had to adhere strictly since 30 December 2011. This regulation obliges each lawyer to conduct an acceptance procedure for each client and each dossier.

Because we feel it is important to inform you about this, you will find an explanation below.

We assess the nature of the task

We are obliged to find out from you the nature of the task you wish to give us, so that we can determine whether the Money Laundering Act is applicable.

If the task relates to specific matters categorised by the legislator as ‘vulnerable to money laundering’, the Money Laundering Act may be applicable, and we must perform an identity check. In concrete terms, this relates to the following tasks:
  • Acting on your behalf or for your account in financial transactions or real estate transactions.
  • Assisting you in the preparation or performance of one of the following transactions:
    i. Purchase or sale of properties or companies.
    ii. Managing monies, securities or other assets.
    iii. Opening or managing bank, savings or securities accounts.
    iv. Organising the contribution required for the constitution, operation or management of companies.
    v. Constitution, operation or management of companies, trusts, fiduciaries or similar legal constructions.

    • The Money Laundering Act does not apply to advice on determining your legal position, or the conducting, preparation or even prevention of legal proceedings, and no identity check is required for these.

      The Identification Process

      If the tasks to be entrusted to us do fall under the application of the Money Laundering Act, we are obliged to verify your identity, and that of the legal person who you may be representing. We will request a copy of your identity card, and, in the case of a company, an extract from the Crossroads Databank for Enterprises. We may also be obliged to ask you the origin of monies or assets.

      The Beneficiary Owner

      We are obliged to ascertain the beneficiary owners of the legal-person client. This means that we have to find out which natural persons are presumed to exercise control over the company. In this case, control means that they have a decisive influence on the appointment of the majority of the Board members and/or managers or on the orientation of the company.

      In practical terms, this means we have to ask the identity of all shareholders, who own at least 25% of the shares in the company. If, in turn, these shareholders are legal persons, extra information is required to establish the identity of the natural persons who are the shareholders of the underlying companies. It is necessary to follow the chain of consecutive owners - and the owners’ shareholders – until the final owner is identified. If this information requires adaptation during the course of our business relationship, we request that you pass this information on to us spontaneously.

      Are you obliged to provide the information we request?

      The law prohibits us from entering into a business relationship with you, and obliges us to terminate our provisional intervention, if we do not receive the requested information within two weeks of receipt of the first request to that effect. It is therefore important that you cooperate with the acceptance procedure.

      What do we do with your information?

      We guarantee that all of the information, which you entrust to us during our business relationship will be handled with complete discretion. The Money Laundering Act does not affect our duty of professional confidentiality. Therefore, we will only report identification information provided by you when Money Laundering legislation obliges us to do this.

      If you would like a copy of the identification fiche which we keep, please feel free to request this. It will be sent to you straight away.

      We trust that you will understand that we are obliged to follow this acceptance procedure, and presume that you will cooperate with it. You can be sure that this acceptance procedure will not affect our professional approach and efforts to help you.

      Please contact us any time for any further explanation.

      Crivits & Persyn

Prévention du blanchiment d'argent

Procédure d’acceptation obligatoire pour les avocats

La loi du 11 janvier 1993 relative à la prévention de l'utilisation du système financier aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme, autrement dit « la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent » ne vous dit peut-être pas grand-chose. Pourtant, cette loi a des implications tant dans vos rapports avec votre banque, votre notaire ou à tout autre conseiller financier que dans vos rapports avec votre avocat.

En exécution de la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent, l’Ordre des barreaux flamands a promulgué un règlement depuis le 30 décembre 2011 que les avocats sont tenus de respecter à la lettre. Ce règlement oblige tous les avocats à effectuer une procédure d’acceptation pour chaque client et chaque dossier.

Etant donné l’importance que nous y accordons, voici une explication détaillée.

Nous évaluons la nature de la mission

Nous évaluons auprès de vous la nature de la mission que vous souhaitez confier afin de déterminer si la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent s’applique.

Pour autant que la mission ait trait à des dossiers précis que le législateur a taxé de ‘sensibles au blanchiment d’argent’, la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent peut s’appliquer et nous devons procéder à une vérification d’identité. Concrètement, il s’agit des missions suivantes :
  • Agir en votre nom ou pour votre compte dans des transactions financières ou immobilières.
  • Vous assister dans la préparation ou la réalisation des transactions suivantes :
    i. l’achat ou la vente de biens immeubles ou d’entreprises commerciales.
    ii. la gestion de fonds, de titres ou d’autres actifs.
    iii. l’ouverture ou la gestion de comptes bancaires ou d’épargne ou de portefeuilles.
    iv. l’organisation des apports nécessaires à la constitution, à la gestion ou à la direction de sociétés.
    v. la constitution, la gestion ou la direction de sociétés, de trusts, de fiducies ou de constructions juridiques similaires.

Pour un avis sur la détermination de votre statut juridique, la réalisation et la préparation d’une procédure judiciaire ou pour éviter celle-ci, la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent ne s’applique pas et il ne faut pas procéder à une vérification d’identité.

La procédure d’identification

S’il s’avère que la mission qui nous est confiée ressort de l’application de la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent, nous sommes obligés de nous informer sur votre identité et celle de la personne morale que vous êtes susceptible de représenter. Nous vous demanderons une copie de votre carte d’identité et s’il s’agit d’une société, d’un extrait de la Banque Carrefour des Entreprises. Nous devrons éventuellement également vous demander l’origine des fonds ou avoirs.

Les bénéficiaires finaux

Nous devons rechercher qui sont les bénéficiaires finaux du client-personne morale. Cela signifie que nous devons nous informer sur les personnes physiques exerçant effectivement le contrôle de la société. Exercer le contrôle veut dire dans ce cas-ci avoir une influence décisionnelle sur la désignation de la majorité des membres du conseil et/ou directeurs ou sur l’orientation de la société.

En pratique, il nous faut demander l’identité de tous les actionnaires qui possèdent au moins 25% des parts dans la société. Si ces actionnaires sont à leur tour des personnes morales, il faut obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires en vue de constater l’identité des personnes physiques qui sont les actionnaires des sociétés filiales ou holdings. Il convient de suivre la chaîne des propriétaires successifs – et des actionnaires des propriétaires – jusqu’à ce que le propriétaire final soit identifié. Si ces données doivent être adaptées dans le courant de nos relations commerciales, nous vous prions de nous transmettre spontanément ces informations.

Devez-vous donner les informations que nous vous demandons ?

La loi nous interdit d’entamer une relation commerciale avec vous et nous oblige à mettre fin à notre intervention provisoire au cas où nous ne recevons pas l’information demandée dans les deux semaines suivant la première demande. Il importe donc que vous coopériez à la procédure d’acceptation.

Que faisons-nous avec vos données ?

Nous vous garantissons une discrétion totale concernant toute donnée que vous nous confiez avant et pendant notre relation commerciale. La loi sur le blanchiment d’argent ne fait pas obstacle à notre secret professionnel. Nous ne communiquerons dès lors les données d’identification que vous nous auriez transmises que si la législation sur le blanchiment d’argent nous y contraint.

Si vous le souhaitez, n’hésitez pas à demander une copie de la fiche d’identification que nous conservons. Elle vous sera remise sur-le-champ.

Nous sommes convaincus de votre compréhension vis-à-vis de la procédure d’acceptation qu’il nous faut suivre et sommes persuadés que vous serez prêt à y coopérer. Soyez assuré que cette procédure d’acceptation n’influencera en aucune façon notre professionnalisme et notre engagement à votre égard.

Si vous souhaitez une explication complémentaire, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Crivits & Persyn